MISION MEXICO- EARLY DAYS

Where do I start? I arrived in Tapachula four days ago and have spent the the time so far getting to know the kids and all their names. There are so many names to remember and routines to become familiar with. The days are long but filled with lots of laughter, hugs, tears and grubby faces. The kids are gorgeous and I have already become quite close with a few of them. I played some guitar for them yesterday and they absolutley loved it, asking after each song ‘un outro? Which means ‘another one’ in spanish. When I play they sit there mezmerised staring at me, smilling so peacefully. It really is such a special moment as I can feel how much they love it. So now many of them want to learn and I have been teaching one girl in particular who is very persistant and has learnt so fast. As I write this post I am sitting on the roof top with a perfect view of the nearby ‘Volcan Tacana’ it is SO beautiful to look at on a clear day. The birds are singing and I can hear the outside hustle and bustle with distant sounds of dogs and roosters.

Yesterday was our weekly beach day. Every Sunday the whole house goes to the beach for a day of fun in the sand, surf and sun. I had the morning off so I was able to surf with the older kids. The surf here is big and powerful and will take some getting use to. For me, being able to surf refreshes me and I feel so grateful that I can still do it here in Tapachula.

We have two huge mango trees here at the refuge and the highlight of many of the kids days is when a mango drops from the tree. Often they will get balls and throw them up into the tree to try and get the mangos to fall. It is a fun game for them with a reward of, if they are lucky a juicy mango, but more often a green mango which they still devour, skin and all! I am really looking forward to settling in and becoming familiar with the routine. For now though it is so nice to be greeted everyday with cuddles and lots of love from the beautiful kids. I’m sure there will be many more stories to come.

Stay tuned.

image
Volcan tacana

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
Tapachula
image
image
image
image
Sun Kissed & Dreaming ©

6 thoughts on “MISION MEXICO- EARLY DAYS”

  1. Those pictures are amazing!!!
    Sounds amazing already. Hope u didnt snap a board already! Sounds like it is exactly where your ment to be xx love seeing some faces from the movie too
    Miss you already

  2. Brought a tear to my eye with the mango tree part, kids over here take for granted the simple sweet pleasures in life and to hear how that is one of the highlights of their day is so precious 🙂 p.s love the pics x

Leave a Reply

